Home Astrology How to Read Navamsa Chart? A Step-by-Step Guide with Tips & Tricks

How to Read Navamsa Chart? A Step-by-Step Guide with Tips & Tricks

08 Apr, 2024 by Parita Soni

How to Read Navamsa Chart? A Step-by-Step Guide with Tips & Tricks

08 Apr, 2024 by Parita Soni

According to Vedic Astrology, the Navamsa Chart is one of the most crucial divisional charts that helps present valuable insights about individuals. Also known as the D9 chart, this chart helps acquire an in-depth analysis of the life of individuals, especially in relationships, marriage, and spirituality. So, if you want to learn how to read Navamsa Chart, this guide is just for you. We shall also comprehend the significance and tips to read the D9 chart in astrology in this blog. 

What is the Navamsa Chart (D9 Chart)?

In Vedic Astrology, the Navamsa Chart, also known as the D9 Chart, helps gain deeper insights about an individual's life. This chart is prepared by dividing each sign of the birth or rashi chart into nine equal parts, thus forming 108 divisions. One can analyze the D9 chart to focus on minute details of the key events of life, such as marriage, relationships, and spirituality. When you read a navamsa chart, each of the one-ninth divisions discloses an evolved perspective on planetary positions and their effects. The planetary placements, aspects, and houses help astrologers uncover valuable insights about individuals' personalities, destinies, and life paths. Thus, reading the D9 chart in astrology helps individuals navigate the diverse stages of life with wisdom and clarity. 

Significance of Reading a Navamsa Chart

The benefits of reading the D9 chart in Vedic astrology are as follows - 

  • One can read the Navamsa chart for marriage, as it helps determine the details related to the nature of spouse, compatibility, and life post-marriage. 
  • The spiritual inclinations of individuals are determined by analyzing the navamsa chart in astrology. One can get an understanding of their spiritual strengths and obstacles in the journey of self-realization. 
  • By analyzing the D9 chart, one can learn about the strengths and dignity of planets, presenting insights into their marks in diverse areas of life.
  • The Navamsa Chart also presents wisdom about the dharma and karma of the individuals, helping them navigate a satisfying life.
How To Read A Kundali

Things to Consider and Avoid When Reading the Navamsa Chart

While you interpret the Navamsa Chart, consider the following things - 

  • Do not solely emphasize individual planets or houses, but consider the overall dynamics when you read the Navamsa chart for marriage.
  • Consider both the positives and negatives, and do not jump to any conclusions without regarding all the yogas and placements.
  • Interpret the D9 chart by taking into account the strengths and the dignity of planets as the ones in powerful positions yield favorable outcomes.
  • Refer to the traditional texts like Brihat Parashara Hora Shastra, as they present valuable insights into the techniques and principles of astrology.
  • If you get stuck on how to read the navamsa chart, you can also reach out to expert astrologers as they present practical remedies and insights.


How to Read Navamsa Chart? Step-by-Step Guide

Did you try to analyze the Navamsa chart yourself, but all you got is confused? The below-mentioned steps might help - 

Step 1: Know the Planetary Positions

Examine the zodiac signs and the planets in each house when you read the D9 chart in astrology. When doing so, consider the position of the Ascendant and its aspects in particular. Also, analyze the position of the Lord of the seventh house governing relationships and marriage.

Step 2: Interpret the Strength of Planets

Analyze the strengths of the planets present in the Navamsa Chart by examining the planetary aspects and conjunctions, such as debilitation, exaltation, etc. When the planets are housed in their own house, friendly or exalted signs, they become more powerful and present favorable outcomes in their individual domains.

Step 3: Examine the Lagna and Its Lord

Spiritual transformation and life paths of individuals can be depicted when you analyze the Navamsa Chart. You can know about the spiritual tendencies and inner nature of the individual by studying the position, aspects, and conjunctions of planets. Also, the state and strength of the Navamsa Lagna help us understand the character, destiny, and personality of the individuals.

Step 4: Emphasize Marriage and Relationships

When you read the D9 chart for marriage, check out the 7th house and its lord, as that is where you learn about relationships and marriage. Analyze the aspects, conjunctions, and placements of zodiacs in the lord of the 7th house. Examine if favorable yogas are built by Jupiter and Venus, as they indicate promising situations for harmonious relationships as well as marriage.

Step 5: Look for Special Combinations

Check the influential yogas or planetary combinations when you read the Navamsa chart for marriage. The presence of these yogas can reveal special events in life, challenges, and the blessings individuals shall experience. Interpret the D9 chart to find any yogas associated with marriage, such as the Kalathra Dosha, and Rahu-Ketu axis. You can also check for spiritual transformation and overall well-being. Also, study the karmic impacts as well as any malefic and benefic marks on planets and houses.

Step 6: Consider Divisional Charts

Check for the relation of the Navamsa Chart with other divisional charts, such as D1, D10, D12, etc., for detailed insights into diverse aspects of life. While you read the D9 chart in Vedic astrology, examine any repeating themes or patterns across divisional charts as it can help one to fetch valuable insights into their life journey.

Step 7: Know the Lordship of Planets

Interpret the Navamsa Chart and check for the lordships of planets and their relations with the lordships of the divisional chart. Doing so can present an understanding of individuals' strengths, weaknesses, and karmic lessons. Also, consider the planetary exchanges, that is, Parivartana Yoga, between the zodiacs and the houses, which can tell you about the shifts and changes in the life path of the individuals. 

Wrapping Up

The above guide might have helped you attain a clear step-by-step know-how to read the Navamsa Chart. Along with the above, a deep understanding of the principles of Vedic Astrology, in addition to patience and practice is essential to read the Navamsa chart for marriage. You can then analyze the Navamsa Chart to find out about relationships, marriage, spiritual growth, and the destiny of individuals. Lastly, do not skip keeping an open mind when you read the D9 chart in astrology.

Leave a Comment